How to Obtain a Police Report After a Car AccidentFebruary 25th, 2020
One of the most important pieces of evidence to provide your insurance company or to build a strong personal injury case after a car accident, is the police report. The police should be contacted after any car accident so that they can offer help, direct traffic if vehicles cannot be immediately moved, and obtain statements from the drivers, passengers, or any other witnesses. The police report is a critical piece of documentation for any insurance investigation or lawsuit.
Obtaining a Police Report
The police officer who arrives at the scene of the accident will take down all the information and interview all appropriate parties. In some cases, depending on the nature of the car accident, the police report may be available immediately after the car accident. However, if many witnesses were interviewed, and the car accident was more severe, the police report will not be available immediately after the accident, as it will take more time to create the report.
Your first step after an accident, if you do not receive a police report at the scene of the accident is to request one. You will likely be charged a small fee to obtain a police report in the state of Louisiana, however, the cost is typically only $10 for the first page and $1 per subsequent page.
Two Ways to Obtain a Louisiana Police Report
Oftentimes, a motorist in a car accident in the State of Louisiana will request a copy of their police report. These reports are critical to proving your case and receiving compensation for your injuries or damages. There are two ways to obtain a police report in the State of Louisiana.
- Louisiana State Police Statewide Crash Report. This website allows a person to directly obtain a copy of their accident report online. You will need to enter the full name of the driver, the parish where you had your car accident, and the car accident date. You will be able to see a small portion of your car accident report, and then pay to view and print it in its entirety.
- The Police Officer or Agency. If you directly contact either the law enforcement agency, police officer (if they provided you with a business card at the scene of the accident) or the municipal police department, you may be able to obtain a copy of the police report. If they are not able to get you the police report, they will be able to direct you to the person who can. Again, you will likely have to request this information either online or in-person and then obtain the report online or a paper copy through the mail.
Contact a Car Accident Attorney Today
The Bowling Christiansen Law Firm has experienced car accident lawyers who can work with you to ensure that you can build your claim and receive the compensation you deserve. Contact one of our expert attorneys today at (504) 586-5200 or online to receive the compensation you deserve.